Board of Supervisors

The New Hanover Soil & Water Conservation District is a governmental subdivision of the State of North Carolina organized to exercise public powers conferred under provisions of the Soil & Water Conservation District Law of North Carolina, Chapter 139, as amended. Under General Statute 139, the District’s responsibility is to plan, coordinate and carry out a conservation program within its legal boundaries.

Each soil and water conservation district in the state of North Carolina is administered by a five person board of supervisors. Three of these supervisors are elected at the same time as the regular election of county officers. This election is nonpartisan and is conducted by the respective county board of elections. Two supervisors are appointed by the North Carolina Soil and Water Conservation Commission upon the recommendation of the local district board of supervisors. All five supervisors serve four year terms of office.

The Board of Supervisors meets on the first Wednesday of each month to establish local soil and water conservation priorities based on the needs of the District. Meeting dates are listed on the district’s calendar. View Board Meeting Minutes and Agendas here.

For more information about the Board of Supervisors, please visit the Division of Soil & Water Conservation webpage.

For more information about becoming a District Supervisor: Guide for Prospective Soil & Water Conservation District Supervisors . Prospective members can email to learn more.

Current members are listed below:

  • William J. "Bill" Hart
    Chairman (Appointed)
  • Sue Hayes
    Vice-Chair (Appointed)
  • Evan Folds
    Member (Elected)
    Phone: (910) 232-3598
  • Frank Meares
    Secretary/Treasurer (Elected)
  • Matt Collogan
    Member (Elected)
    Phone: (240) 498-5413
Soil and Water Conservation: 230 Government Center Drive, Suite 100 • Wilmington, NC 28403 • Phone 910-798-7130 • Fax 910-798-7282
Skip to content